Jason Swales Photography – Portfolio Blog

Icon

Wildlife gets a new subject…(and a new lens)

Introducing the Mother of all lenses,

 

 

An image captured recently following some work I am completing on a Wildlife Module for my AP Diploma. Although this image will not be part of the final submission, it is part of the notes sections, where I am giving some thoughts and ideas as to the subject matter and what I wish to achieve.

The image above has been placed through my typical workflow with no cropping. I was concious and tried to practice getting the composition correct in the lens. this itself is challenging with a fast moving subject that just won’t stand still long enough.

Shot with the Nikon D3 and a new Sigma 300mm – 800mm f/5.6 lens, (that’s right); this lens just needed to be tested out. An immense lens offering possibilites that I could only wonder about beforehand. Shooting wildlife has been a challenge itself and given me yet more things to consider when I do this type of shoot. My nearest lens to this monster is the Nikon 80mm – 400mm f/4.5 VR, whilst in itslef is an amazing unit, sometimes it’s just not long enough to get where I want.

I spent a day photographing other wildlife with this lens and I will post some of the images I captured with the lens on the Blog. Using a Manfrotto 055MF4 tripod, I set the D3 to Aperture Priority, ISO 320 at f/5.6, shutter speed 1/750 sec and a focal length of 700mm.

I am still working through the keepers and trash that I collected, but more on this later. As I have said before, alot of photos taken on the shoot don’t make it through the selection process and as I shot the day in RAW with a bracketing compensation of -1.0EV each side of the burst, the digital film soon became full.

Other images in this shoot will be posted shortly and you will see by the focal length of the lens, it gave me photo opportunites I just couldn’t get before. It has, I am pleased to say, also given me a greater interest in wildlife photography, knowing and appreciating the type of images I can capture.

 

Filed under: Collections, Wildlife

Leave a Reply

